While Washington State has started the process of re-opening its economy in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, the future for landlords and their tenants is still somewhat uncertain. Here’s the latest eviction law update as of June 2020.
The Federal CARES Act, passed by Congress in late March 2020, included a 120-day suspension on residential evictions. The CARES Act also allowed certain landlords (those with federally-backed mortgages) to request forbearance of their payments.
In Washington State, Gov. Inslee extended moratorium on evictions through Aug. 1, 2020. The extension included certain exceptions to allow some evictions to move forward prior to August. In order to proceed with an eviction under the partial moratorium, the owner or manager of the property must provide at least 60-days’ written notice that they intend to (1) personally occupy the premises as a primary residence, or (2) sell the property.
Washington landlords are still banned from charging tenants late fees for rent during this moratorium. Tenants who fall behind on their rent during the pandemic must be offered a reasonable re-payment plan to catch up on unpaid rent.
The governor’s proclamation still stops both commercial and residential landlords from raising rent on any tenant affected by COVID-19 during this time. Certain evictions may still be allowed if tenants are causing a significant and immediate risk to the health and safety of others.
If you own or manage rental property in Washington State and you have questions about the rapidly-changing laws surrounding landlord and tenant rights during the coronavirus pandemic, Limitless Law PLLC has years of experience with real estate law, and we’re here to help. New clients are welcome to call us at 360-685-0145 for a free 15-minute phone consultation.
Photo by Dylan Ferreira on Unsplash